When you get a traffic ticket conviction in Virginia, the state will automatically assign demerit points to your license. Even seemingly minor tickets can cause serious problems when they begin to accumulate. Therefore, even for minor traffic infractions, it is best to contact a Fairfax Traffic Violations Lawyer. A good traffic attorney can help get these tickets dismissed or reduced, preventing the serious penalties that can occur from having multiple convictions accumulate on your driving record over time.
Fairfax Traffic Violations Lawyers on Demerit Points in Virginia
Virginia has a positive point system for driving records. All drivers in the state start with a zero point balance. One good point is added to the driving record for every year the person does not have a conviction. The extra annual point for good driving behavior is normally awarded in April. Plus 5 (+5) is the best possible record you can have in Virginia. Every two years, a driver may complete a driver improvement course online or in person. This may add up to five good points to the driving record, subject to the +5 limit.
After a person is convicted of a traffic offense, Virginia assigns violations with either three, four, or six demerit points. These points are assessed after the ten day appeal period in the General District Courts, on the eleventh day after your trial date. For a simple speeding ticket, such as 5 MPH over the speed limit, a person would get three points on their license. Speeding 20 or more over the limit is six points, but still a traffic infraction. Reckless Driving is a six point demerit misdemeanor conviction and stays on the driving record for 11 years. Drunk driving defendants also receive six points. Fairfax Traffic Violations Lawyers can help get these tickets dismissed or reduced to lesser charges to remove these points from the driving record. This also helps reduce insurance rates and long term problems associated with misdemeanor convictions (security clearances/job prospects/immigration status).
The penalties these points can bring include:
- Letter of caution from the state
- Being forced to attend a Driver Improvement Clinic
- License suspension for 90 days
After 8 points in 12 months, the state will send you a letter warning you of the need to follow the laws of the road. After 12 points in 12 months (or 18 points in 24 months) a driver is forced to attend a Driver Improvement Clinic through the state. If you get 18 points in 12 months (or 24 points in 24 months), your license will be suspended for at least 90 days and can't be reissued until completion of another Driver Improvement Clinic.
In order to prevent rising insurance rates, license suspensions, or being forced to attend a costly class, contact an experienced Fairfax Traffic Violations Lawyer. The Law Office of Wilfred W. Yeargan can help keep your driving record clean and assist you with avoiding problems with the Division of Motor Vehicles. If you've gotten a traffic ticket in Virginia, contact The Law Office of Wilfred Ward Yeargan for a free consultation today.